Oregon wrestling revolves in big way

Only Crescent Valley repeats as state team champion
By Cliff Pfenning, oregonsports.com

PORTLAND - Newberg, La Grande, Burns and Reedsport all added new chapters to their wrestling programs by winning state titles at the OSAA State Wrestling championships Saturday night at Memorial Coliseum.

In Reedsport's case, it came down to one win in a title match to end Culver's six-year run as champion at the Class 2A level and become champion for the first time since 1967. La Grande needed the same result at 4A - a win in its final title match to beat last year's champion Sweet Home - and win its first title since 1996.

Newberg (2009) and Burns (2011) both had to go back a decade or more for their last championship.

Crescent Valley flew through the 5A championships after getting a strong challenge from Crook County through the quarterfinals.

Thurston won the girls tournament for the first time.

Since the state went to five state wrestling classifications in 2006, only once before had as many as four champions changed from one year to the next - in 2013, when all five champions failed to repeat. What made this year so different, though, is that La Grande, Burns nor Reedsport had finished as high as second in 2019. In Reedsport's case, it was eighth last year.