Nation preps for one cold run

The Nike Cross Nationals appear headed for snow on top of ice
Dec. 5, 2013 / By Cliff Pfenning, Oregonsports Journal

PORTLAND - Cold air and even snow won't just be part of Saturday for the Portland area, but part of the nation - at Portland Meadows.

High school cross country teams from across the U.S. are set to take part in the annual Nike Cross Nationals, a 5,000-meter race inside the horse race track that attracts most of the top runners in the nation.

Although it's been cold at the race in the past, forecasts expect temperatures in the 20s with the possiblity of snow on the course.

The girls race is likely to attract significant attention as Sarah Baxter of Simi Valley, Calif., races for her third-straight win. Baxter enters the race having never lost a high school race, including the NXN as a sophomore and junior. Saturday, she'll compete against Mary Cain of Bronxville, N.Y., who turned pro at the age of 17 in November and is being coached by Alberto Salazar through the Nike Oregon Project.

Here are the previous winners of the meet, which is in its 10th running.


2004 Sean McNamara Illinois Midwest 15:43.9 DyeStat 2005 Kenny Klots Oregon Northwest 16:25.8 DyeStat 2006 James Murdock New York Northeast* 16:26.9 DyeStat 2007 Chris Derrick Illinois Midwest 15:39.8 DyeStat 2008 Reed Connor Texas South 15:13.6 DyeStat 2009 Craig Lutz Texas South 15:09.2 DyeStat 2010 Lukas Verzbicas Illinois Midwest 15:59.2 DyeStat 2011 Futsum Zeinasellaissie Indiana Midwest 15:03 DyeStat 2012 Sam Wharton Ohio Midwest 17:08 MileSplit


2004 Ramsay Kavan South Dakota Heartland 18:05.37 DyeStat 2005 Betsy Bies South Dakota Heartland 19:23.47 DyeStat 2006 Ashley Higginson New Jersey Northeast 19:18.4 DyeStat 2007 Madeline Morgan Alabama Southeast 18:54.5 DyeStat 2008 Chelsey Sveinsson Texas South 17:26.9 DyeStat 2009 Katie Flood Iowa Heartland 17:47.20 DyeStat 2010 Rachel Johnson Texas South 18:18.6 DyeStat 2011 Sarah Baxter California California 17:38 DyeStat 2012 Sarah Baxter California California 19:17 MileSplit


Oregon will be represented by Grant sophomore Ella Donaghu and Summit High junior Hannah Gindlesperger in the girls race, and by junior Reilly Bloomer of South Eugene and senior Ahmed Ibrahim of Reynolds as well as the Central Catholic boys team, which won the Class 6A OSAA title and received an at-large bid after finishing third in the Northwest Region qualifier.

The club team from Fayetteville-Manlius in upstate New York will be looking for its eighth-straight team title.

The girls race is set for 10 a.m., with the boys race at 11:30 a.m.







Oregon women highlight big race weekend

Ducks win NCAA title, Southern Oregon takes second in NAIA
Nov. 18, 2012

Sparked by a third-place finish from senior Jordan Hasay, the Oregon women's cross country team won it's first NCAA title in 25 years Saturday in Louisville, Kentucky.

Hasay led an impressive pack of Ducks who were in the race's top 50 nearly the entire 6,000 meter distance.

Oregon ended up winning easily with 114 points, followed by Providence with 183, Stanford with 198 and Florida State with 202.

Hasay ran in the lead pack throughout finishing third only to Iowa State's Betsy Saina and second to Abbey D'Agostino of Dartmouth at the tape. After a sprint to the finish, Saina was the 2012 individual champion in 19:27.9, followed by D'Agostino and Hasay both in 19:28.6.

Alexii Pappas, a transfer from Dartmouth, ran just a step off the lead pack the entire race, and finished eighth in 19:43.9.

Katie Conlon was the surprise of the day for the Ducks. The transfer from NAIA Jamestown College in North Dakota had been the Ducks' fifth or sixth runner during the regular season, but put on a strong kick over the final third of the race, passing a couple dozen runners to place 39th in 20:15.0.

Then it was freshman Allie Woodward coming to the line as Oregon's fourth runner. The Green Bay, Wis., native was 44th overall in 20:19.5. Freshman Annie Leblanc capped the scoring for the Ducks, finishing 68th in 20:31.5

Oregon also had senior Sarah Penney 105th in 20:50.7 and freshman Abbey Leonardi 162nd in 21:12.2.



Southern Oregon, which won the NAIA title two years ago, finished second in the championship meet held at Fort Vancouver in Washington.

Tyler VanDyke led the Raiders with a 19th-place finish at 25:06 on the 10,000-meter course and the team all followed within 41 seconds, but that wasn't enough to overcome St. Francis in the team race.

Kailee Coffey of Eastern Oregon finished third in the women's final.


MHC district meet runs to form

State champions Thompson and Rice win easily to qualify for state
Oct. 24, 2012 / By Cliff Pfenning,

The defending state champions at Class 6A ran as they were expected and won the individual titles at the Mt. Hood Conference district cross country meet Wednesday at Centennial High School.

Kyle Thompson, a junior at Central Catholic, won the boys race by 25 seconds over Barlow senior Jackson Haselnus, while Paige Rice, a junior at St. Mary's Academy, won the girls race by nearly 17 seconds over senior teammate Ellen Patterson.

Rice, who won last year's state title by one second, set a personal record for a 5,000-meter course, finishing in 17 minutes, 46 seconds. St. Mary's easily won the girls meet with all seven of its team members placing in the top 10.

Central Catholic won the boys meet by placing its five scoring runners in the top 8.

Barlow finished second in the boys meet and Gresham finished second in the girls meet to each qualify for the state championships, scheduled for Nov. 3, at Lane Community College.




1. Central Catholic 26, Barlow 53, Reynolds 62, Centennial 94, David Douglas 134, Gresham, inc.


1. St. Mary's Academy 21, Gresham 77, Barlow 100, Reynolds 104, Central Catholic 106, David Douglas 111, Centennial 214.





Distance runners brush aside frosty conditions

Second annual Holiday Half Marathon takes over Adidas campus
By Cliff Pfenning,

The December cold of an early start didn't slow down the second annual Holiday Half Marathon Sunday in North Portland.

At least it wasn't windy, as it was last year.

More than 1,000 runners braved the freezing conditions for 13.1 miles, beginning and ending at the Adidas North America campus as part of the event, which also included a five-kilometer run.

Dave Lyons of Portland finished in 1 hour, 10 minutes, 10 seconds to claim first place. Lori Burrato of Spokane, Wash., won the women's race in 1:28:24.

The races are expected to generate more than $30,000 to support various non-profit groups beginning with the Portland-based Freshwater Trust.


1. Dave Lyons, Portland, 1:10:10
2. Bret Kimple, Portland, 1:14:08
3. Chad Kilian, Portland, 1:15:18
4. Bill Aronson, Portland, 1:20:09
5. Kyle Roozen, Milwaukie, 1:21:13
6. Jonathan Sipling, Portland, 1:22:40
7. Eric Dinnel, Washougal, Wash., 1:22:50
8. Rich Roberson, Portland, 1:23:03
9. Ben Hermel, Portland, 1:23:20
10. Kenneth Fetters, Portland, 1:23:53

1. Lori Buratto, Spokane Valley, Wash.,1:28:24
2. Korina Pongracz, Portland, 1:32:58
3. Jamie Caulley, Portland, 1:35:16
4. Rache Blair, Corvallis, 1:35:43
5. Torie Laurent, Portland, 1:35:52
6. Pamela Hays, Portland, 1:36:49
7. Constance Tammen, West Linn, 1:36:55
8. Julia Carpenter, Happy Valley, 1:37:06
9. Holly Heaver, Beaverton, 1:37:27     
10. Jaime Linnerooth, Portland, 1:37:29

RSS feed