oregon women's softball

Oregon wins Pac-12 title, next up NCAA

Ducks move to No. 1 after regular-season series win, reach playoffs
Staff report

Oregon reached one of the goals it set out to accomplish at the start of the college softball season - win the Pac-12 Conference title again.

Now, the second goal - win the national championship.

The Ducks beat Cal in three games during the weekend, running their win streak to 13 straight. That bumped them from No. 2 to No. 1 with the playoffs arriving Thursday.

Oregon will play host to a four-team, double-elimination tournament that includes the University of Albany, Drake and Brigham Young.

The conference title is the team's fifth in the past six years. The Ducks, though, have not won the national title or reached the title game. The Pac-12, once the darling of college softball by winning 10 title in 11 years leading up to 2011, has not won a title since 2011. A Pac-12 school has not won a title since that ASU team did it in 2011.

The conference enters the 64-team NCAA tournament with seven representatives: Oregon, No. 3 UCLA, No. 5 Washington, No. 8 ASU, Arizona, Cal and Oregon State. The Southeastern Conference had 13 of its 14 schools reach the playoffs.

Oklahoma, which has won the past two national championships and three of the past five, and Florida, the national champion of 2014 and '15, are seeded in the top 5.

Following the 16 Regional tournaments, the winners move to the Super Regionals, a best two-of-three series that will produce an eight-team World Series roster. The World Series will be played out May 31-June 6 in Oklahoma City, Okla.



RSS feed