oregon sports awards

Mariota leads list of OSA candidates

Oregon senior's captivating run to the Heisman heads annual awards ceremony
June 7, 2015

ESPN SportsCenter anchor and University of Oregon alum Neil Everett will host the 63rd Annual Oregon Sports Awards Thursday at the Tiger Woods Center at Nike World Headquarters.

The annual event will be celebrated in June for the first time, with the event following the academic calendar year rather than the calendar year.

Among the top Awards candidates are Marcus Mariota of the University of Oregon football team, and Damian Lillard of the Portland Trail Blazers and West Linn’s Payton Pritchard.

Awards are handed out for Professional, collegiate and prep athletes with three finalists at each level.


Johnny Carpenter Prep Athlete of the Year

Osawaru Odighizua, David Douglas H.S. (Football & Wrestling)
Payton Pritchard, West Linn H.S. (Basketball)
Kellen Strahm, Sheldon H.S. (Football & Baseball)
Ella Donaghu, Grant H.S. (Cross Country & Track & Field)
Katie McWilliams, South Salem H.S. (Basketball)
Gigi Stoll, Beaverton H.S. (Basketball & Golf)

Bill Hayward Award
Amateur Athletes of the Year

Oliver Bjorkstrand, Portland Winterhawks
Edward Cheserek, University of Oregon (Cross Country & Indoor Track & Field)
Marcus Mariota, University of Oregon (Football)
Ruth Hamblin, Oregon State (Basketball)
Cheridan Hawkins, University of Oregon (Softball)
Martenne Bettendorf, University of Oregon (Volleyball)

Harry Glickman Award
Professional Athlete of the Year

LaMarcus Aldridge, Portland Trail Blazers
Mo Farah Nike Oregon Project (Track & Field)
Damian Lillard, Portland Trail Blazers
Mary Cain, Nike Oregon Project, University of Portland (Track & Field)
Kim Hill, U.S. National Team, Portland Christian H.S. (Volleyball)
Brianne Theisen-Eaton, Canadian National Team, University of Oregon (Track & Field)

Kelly, Eaton, Brenner take top awards

The Oregon Sports Awards recognizes pro, college, prep standouts from 2012
Feb. 10, 2013

The University of Oregon dominated the top awards, both with current and future athletes, at the Oregon Sports Awards Sunday at the Nike Campus in Beaverton.

Kenjon Barner of the Oregon football program and Elizabeth Brenner of the Ducks's volleyball, basketball, softball and track and field programs, were honored with the top awards, the Bill Hayward Amatuer Athlete of the Year.

Football coach Chip Kelly, decathlete Ashon Eaton, the University of Oregon women's indoor track, women's cross country, acrobatics and tumbling team as well as incoming freshmen Thomas Tyner of Aloha High and Haley Crouser of Gresham were also honored. Tyner and Crouser were honored with the Johnny Carpenter Prep Athlete of the Year Award.

Eaton, an Oregon alum, won the decathlon at the London Olympics and was the  men's Harry Glickman Professional Athlete of the Year, while University of Portland alum Megan Rapinoe was the women's winner for her role on the U.S. Women's Soccer team winning the Olympic gold.


Bill Hayward Amateur Athlete of the Year
MALE: Kenjon Barner, University of Oregon football
FEMALE: Elizabeth Brenner, University of Oregon volleyball, basketball, softball, track and field
Harry Glickman Professional Athlete of the Year
MALE: Ashton Eaton,Oregon Track Club Elite and Team USA track and field
FEMALE: Megan Rapinoe, Team USA soccer
Slats Gill Sportsperson of the Year
Chip Kelly, University of Oregon football coach, and Erik Spoelstra, Miami Heat basketball coach
Ad Rutschman Small College Athlete of the Year (male)
MALE: Mitch Lofstedt, Southern Oregon University wrestling
FEMALE: Staci Doucette, Linfield College softball
George Pasero Teams of the Year
Winners: Blue Mountain Community College volleyball; Oregon Institute of Technology men's basketball; University of Oregon acrobatics and tumbling; University of Oregon women's cross country; University of Oregon women's indoor track
DNA Award
(To an individual or organization for extraordinary passion and dedication to sports in Oregon)
Danny Miles, Oregon Institute of Technology men's basketball coach
Game Changer Award
(to individuals who have dedicated their lives to high school sports and made compelling changes in their schools and communities)
Bobbie Steninger, Lakeview High
Lou Burge Special Olympics Athlete of the Year
Dony Knight, Sutherlin High
Johnny Carpenter Prep Athlete of the Year
Class 6A/5A male

MALE: Thomas Tyner, Aloha High football
FEMALE: Haley Crouser, Gresham High track and field, volleyball
Class 4A/3A/2A/1A
MALE: Oshay Dunmore, Newport High, multiple sports
FEMALE: Baily Bennett, Heppner High, multiple sports


Football Player of the Year
Thomas Tyner, Aloha High
Volleyball Player of the Year
Tani Stephens, West Albany High
Boys Soccer Player of the Year
Christo Michaelson, Jesuit High
Girls Soccer Player of the Year
Ariel Viera, Scappoose High
Boys Cross Country Runner of the Year
Travis Neuman, Summit High
Girls Cross Country Runner of the Year
Sara Tsai, South Eugene High
Boys Basketball Player of the Year
Calvin Hermanson, Lake Oswego High
Girls Basketball Player of the Year
Mercedes Russell, Springfield High
Wrestler of the Year
Zac Brunson, Churchill High
Boys Swimmer of the Year
Cameron Stitt, Sunset High
Girls Swimmer of the Year
Sarah Kaunitz, Lake Oswego High
Baseball Player of the Year
Carson Kelly, Westview High
Softball Player of the Year
Maryssa Becker, North Medford High
Boys Track and Field Athlete of the Year
Oshay Dunmore, Newport High
Girls Track and Field Athlete of the Year
Haley Crouser, Gresham High
Boys Golfer of the Year
Sulman Raza, South Eugene High
Girls Golfer of the Year
Gigi Stoll, Beaverton High
Boys Tennis Player of the Year
Goutham Sundaram, Lincoln High
Girls Tennis Player of the Year
Erin Larner, Jesuit High

RSS feed