Roseburg has a battle in state team race

Among defending champs, the Indians have plenty to work through
Feb. 22, 2013 / By Cliff Pfenning, Oregonsports Journal
Steve Lander has led Roseburg to team titles in five of the last six years.
Photo by Cliff Pfenning, Oregonsports Journal

After three consecutive state titles, and five in six years, sending 17 wrestlers to the state tournament would basically put Roseburg High into its fourth-straight and six in seven years.

That would be an easy conclusion.

But, David Douglas has been building for several years, is coming off a second-place finish and has more district champions than the Indians do as the state tournament prepares to begin Friday at Memorial Coliseum.

And, Hillsboro and McNary seem ready to be contenders as well.

A title by any of those three teams would take fans into their history books as none has won a team title since 1990, when Hillsboro won. McNary hasn’t won since 1975, and David Douglas last won in 1966.

For more: