summit high

District meets show up on horizon

Cross country teams will pare down to state finalists soon
Oct. 12, 2015 / By Cliff Pfenning, Oregonsports Journal

With less than a fortnight before the first OSAA state finals, cross country teams across Oregon are beginning final preparations for the district/league/conference finals that will result in the line-ups for the championships, Oct. 31, in Eugene.

Most of the meets will take place Oct. 21, from Portland to Grants Pass.

The state is divided into four classifications for cross country.

Summit enters with the state's longest run of championships, with its girls team having won the past seven Class 5A finals. Union/Cove has a run of four consecutive Class 3A girls titles, the Summit boys have a run of four-straight 5A titles and Central Catholic has won the last three 6A boys titles.

Here are the district meet venues.


Wed., Oct. 21

PIL - Fernwood Park, Portland

METRO - Tualatin Hills Recreation Center, Beaverton

METRO - Centennial High, Gresham

THREE RIVERS - Clackamas Community College, Oregon City

GREATER VALLEY - Bush Park, Salem

SOUTHWEST - All Sports Park, Grants Pass


Wed., Oct 21

MID-WILLAMETTE - Crystal Lake Sports Park, Corvallis

MIDWESTERN - Jackson County Expo Center, Central Point

NORTHWEST OREGON - Meriwether National Golf Club, Hillsboro

Fri., Oct. 23

INTERMOUNTAIN - Drake Park, Bend

Sat. Oct. 24

COLUMBIA RIVER - Sorosis Park, The Dalles


Wed., Oct. 21

TRI-VALLEY - McIver State Park, Estacada

SKYLINE - Jackson County Expo Center, Central Point

SKY-EM - Lane Community College, Eugene

COWAPA - Camp Rilea, Seaside

Thurs., Oct. 22

FAR WEST - Tugman State Park, North Bend

Fri., Oct. 23

GREATER OREGON - Baker City Golf Course

Sat., Oct. 24

OREGON WEST - Willamette Mission State Park, Brooks


Thurs., Oct. 22

DISTRICT 1 - Tualatin Hills Recreation Center, Beaverton

DISTRIST 2 - Bush Park, Salem

DISTRICT 3 - Bush Park, Salem

DISTRICT 4 - Lane Community College, Eugene



Mariota leads list of OSA candidates

Oregon senior's captivating run to the Heisman heads annual awards ceremony
June 7, 2015

ESPN SportsCenter anchor and University of Oregon alum Neil Everett will host the 63rd Annual Oregon Sports Awards Thursday at the Tiger Woods Center at Nike World Headquarters.

The annual event will be celebrated in June for the first time, with the event following the academic calendar year rather than the calendar year.

Among the top Awards candidates are Marcus Mariota of the University of Oregon football team, and Damian Lillard of the Portland Trail Blazers and West Linn’s Payton Pritchard.

Awards are handed out for Professional, collegiate and prep athletes with three finalists at each level.


Johnny Carpenter Prep Athlete of the Year

Osawaru Odighizua, David Douglas H.S. (Football & Wrestling)
Payton Pritchard, West Linn H.S. (Basketball)
Kellen Strahm, Sheldon H.S. (Football & Baseball)
Ella Donaghu, Grant H.S. (Cross Country & Track & Field)
Katie McWilliams, South Salem H.S. (Basketball)
Gigi Stoll, Beaverton H.S. (Basketball & Golf)

Bill Hayward Award
Amateur Athletes of the Year

Oliver Bjorkstrand, Portland Winterhawks
Edward Cheserek, University of Oregon (Cross Country & Indoor Track & Field)
Marcus Mariota, University of Oregon (Football)
Ruth Hamblin, Oregon State (Basketball)
Cheridan Hawkins, University of Oregon (Softball)
Martenne Bettendorf, University of Oregon (Volleyball)

Harry Glickman Award
Professional Athlete of the Year

LaMarcus Aldridge, Portland Trail Blazers
Mo Farah Nike Oregon Project (Track & Field)
Damian Lillard, Portland Trail Blazers
Mary Cain, Nike Oregon Project, University of Portland (Track & Field)
Kim Hill, U.S. National Team, Portland Christian H.S. (Volleyball)
Brianne Theisen-Eaton, Canadian National Team, University of Oregon (Track & Field)

RSS feed