Roseburg wins its way toward title defense

Culver in dogfight for 2A crown
Feb. 24, 2012 / By Cliff Pfenning, oregonsports.com

Roseburg took over the Class 6A state wrestling tournament with eight semifinalists Friday at Memorial Coliseum, while the 10-year run of titles by Burns unofficially came to an end.

The Indians's quarterfinalists each won two matches, including and upset by unseeded junior Brody Faas of second-seeded Jay Devera of McMinnville in the first round at 138 pounds.

Roseburg amassed 102 points, which nearly doubled second-place Sprague's 53 points. David Douglas was third at 50 points.

The remaining four title races were highly competitive, beginning with Class 2A, where five-time defending champion Culver was tied with Lowell at 27 points, and both had eight semifinalists.

At Class 5A, Hermiston's five-year run as champion was headed for an end as Dallas (83) and Pendleton (78) battled for the lead, well ahead of the Bulldogs' total (58.5).

Caascade (91), Crook County (88) and defending champion Henley (84) are dueling for the Class 4A title.

Burns, which has a 10-year run of titles at Class 3A, is in seventh place with 40 points, well behind upstart Willamina, which is leading pre-tournament favorite Nyssa 81-69.

The semifinals and finals conclude Saturday.



The 10-year run of state titles appears likely to be at an end for Burns High as the OSAA state wrestling championships prepare to play out at Memorial Coliseum Friday and Saturday.

The Hilanders have just two underclassmen seeded first or second and aren't even rated in the top 3 at Class 3A, according to the Oregon Wrestling Forum. The 10-year run, which began in 2002 when the state had just three classifications, is the longest of any school in the sport and second only to the David Douglas girls swim team's run of 14-straight titles from 1967-81.

Hermiston, the Class 5A champion, has won five straight titles, but also appears in jeopardy of having that streak end as Dallas is a significant favorite with Pendleton and Churchill also competing for title recognition.

Roseburg, at Class 6A, Henley at Class 4A and Culver at Class 2A, appear ready to defend their titles - Culver running it's string to six consecutive titles.

Individually, four wrestlers will be aiming for their fourth title: Blake Griffin of Sprague, Joey Delgado of Hermiston, Zac Brunson of Churchill and Quinn Johnson of Gold Beach.


Title turnover highlights state swim finals

Sunset, Jesuit repeat, but four other titles go to new teams
Feeb. 18, 2012 / By Cliff Pfenning, oregonsports.com

The expected challenges both Sunset and Jesuit were ready to face didn't materialize and they each defended their state swim titles on a day of fresh faces at Mt. Hood Community College.

Sunset repeated as boys champion at Class 6A, while Jesuit won its fourth-straight girls title.

Summit won both boys and girls titles at Class 5A, while the Cottage Grove boys and Henley girls won at Class 4A.

For the girls teams at both Summit and Henley, the title was their first after numerous second-place finishes. Summit finished second twice the past five seasons, while Henley finished second four of the past five years.

Among the day's biggest winners were Lake Oswego sophomore Sarah Kaunitz and Sunset junior Cameron Stitt, who both won two events at the Class 6A meet. Kaunitz won the 100 breaststroke, the 200 individual medley and swam legs on the winning 200 and 400 freestyle relay teams, while Stitt won the 200 freestyle, the 500 freestyle and swam the anchor leg of the winning 200 medley relay and 400 freestyle relay.

Stitt missed establishing a all-time meet record in the 500 freestyle by .51 seconds. The 500 freestyle record is the oldest on the OSAA record books, set by Alex Stiles of Lincoln in 1984.

Among the other meet highlights, Cascade Christian sophomore Beanna Sapienza narrowly missed setting a meet record in the 100 butterfly, finishing in 54.63 seconds, just .11 off the record set by Roeburg's Kaylin Bing in 2008.

Cascade Christian senior Aaron Ghiglieri won the 100 butterfly in 49.52, less than a second off the all-time mark of 48.72 set by Aloha's Neil O'Halloran just last year.




RSS feed